Posted tagged ‘oprah’

Elizabeth Gilbert on her favourite books

February 23, 2010

Since the release of Eat, Pray, Love in 2006, Elizabeth Gilbert was catapulted into a household name overnight. Now readers can dip into the sequel, Committed, as Gilbert continues her memoir of her worldwide adventures.

From her background as a magazine short story writer (anyone remember Coyote Ugly?), Gilbert cites a sizeable list of authors and books as influences, both stylistic and in terms of content. From her earliest roots, she remembers the Wizard of Oz (the book!). She went so far as to say, “I am a writer today because I learned to love reading as a child—and mostly on account of the Oz books. … If you have a child and a lap, you really should own the entire set.”

Topping her adult reading list by far is Charles Dickens: Bleak House and David Copperfield rank amongst her favourites. Of the latter, she has said, “David Copperfield was Dickens’ own favorite among his novels—no better recommendation than that!”

Fans of Eat, Pray, Love looking for a few good book recommendations should take notes from Gilbert herself. She owes a lot to Meditations by Marcus Aurelius and jokingly says, “I keep this in the bathroom and read from it, literally, every day. I like his humble, common-sense and somehow very contemporary philosophy.”

For more on Elizabeth Gilbert’s favourite books and authors, have a look at her infloox page or add to it yourself if you know of more influences!

Book world gearing up for Sarah Palin’s memoir

November 3, 2009

Harper Collins has announced that Sarah Palin’s memoir, Going Rogue: An American Life (ghost-written with Lynn Vincent) will go on sale November 17, 2009.  The 400-page hardcover will release with an initial print run of a whopping 1.5 million copies, and the e-book will follow after Christmas.

Abruptly resigning from her political post as Governor of Alaska earlier this year, Sarah Palin has managed to stir up controversy over and over again, and readers will no doubt be curious to see what she has to say of her own experiences. According to her publisher, Jonathan Burnham, “It’s her words, her life, and it’s all there in full and fascinating detail.”

As with most political figures, Palin has her supporters as well as critics. Late last year, ABC news revealed that back home in Alaska, Palin (then Mayor of Wasillia) had fired a librarian for refusing to ban certain books in the local library, after her church had been lobbying for the book Pastor, I Am Gay to be removed. That, along with numerous strongly conservative views that Palin has tried to implement politially has garnered much publicity.

Palin’s conservative leanings are also reflected in her literary influences.  In one interview, she revealed that her top favourite writers are C.S. Lewis (along with his Narnia tales, readers will remember that he was a staunch supporter of religion, liberally incorporating it into his work), as well as Dr. George Sheehan, a one-time columnist for Runner’s World, who had published several works on athletics and battling cancer.

Palin will be appearing on the Oprah Winfrey Show on November 16th to discuss her book.  Incidentally, it will also mark the first time that Palin publicly talks about her book and appears on Oprah.

What are your thoughts on Sarah Palin, and how do you think her new book will be received?

What do you think of Oprah’s book club?

August 26, 2009

It’s a fairly widely known fact that Oprah is well-read and appreciates the power and knowledge that a book can convey. Today I’m curious about how many of you out there follow her monthly book club picks and to what extent your reading habits are influenced by her, so I’ve made a little poll. Feel free to post a comment below too and let me know your thoughts!